Alumni Awards

Since 1894, more than 3,100 seminarians and more than 400 graduate theology students have passed through the doors of The Saint Paul Seminary School of Divinity. Many of these alumni have made significant contributions to the seminary, their own parishes and communities, and the universal Church. We honor their achievements with the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award was first introduced as part of The Saint Paul Seminary’s Centennial Celebration in 1995. Currently, two alumni are honored each year: 1) an ordained alumnus and 2) a lay alumnus or an exceptional friend of The Saint Paul Seminary.

Distinguished Alumni Recipients (1995-2019)

For more information, please contact Nancy Johnson: or (651) 962-5967.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is a special honor bestowed upon an extraordinary individual, whose unique leadership and commitment to the Church are recognized throughout the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis, as well as regionally and nationally. This is not an annual award.

Msgr. William L. Baumgaertner (2003)

Archbishop John R. Roach (1995)

Meet your future priests!

Meet a new seminarian each month + get an inside peek into life at the seminary

Scroll to Top